New Zealand: one country, two monarchs

As a member of the Commonwealth Realms, New Zealand, like 15 other nations, shares the British Royal Family and The Queen as head of state. But what most people don’t realise, is that since 1858, New Zealand has had its own King, through the Māori King Movement, with the current monarch Tūheitia Potatau Te Wherowhero VII reigning since 2006. The Māori King, while holding no constitutional…
Read more