SUPPORT OUR JOURNALISM: Please consider donating to keep our website running and free for all - thank you!


The line of succession to the Norwegian throne

Norway’s current line of succession took effect in 1990 when the law was changed to allow for absolute primogeniture.

Article 6 of the Norwegian Constitution governs succession, stating that the monarch’s eldest child, regardless of gender, will succeed them to the throne.

Only legitimate descendants of the current monarch (King Harald) and the monarch’s siblings can inherit the throne. The King’s elder sisters, Princess Astrid and the late Princess Ragnhild and their descendants aren’t in the line of succession as Norway was governed by agnatic primogeniture until 1971, which barred them from the throne.

The current Norwegian line of succession is as follows:

  1. Crown Prince Haakon
  2. Princess Ingrid Alexandra
  3. Prince Sverre Magnus
  4. Princess Märtha Louise
  5. Maud Behn
  6. Leah Behn
  7. Emma Behn

If no one remains in the line of succession, Norway’s parliament, the Storting, will elect a successor or the monarch under Articles 7 and 48, respectively.

About author

Brittani is from Tennessee, USA. She is a political scientist and historian after graduating with a degree in the topics from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, in December 2014. She also holds a master's degree from Northeastern University. She enjoys reading and researching all things regarding the royals of the world. She's been researching, reading, and writing on royalty for over a decade. She became Europe Editor in October 2016, and then Deputy Editor in January 2019, and has been featured on several podcasts, radio shows, news broadcasts and websites including Global News Canada, ABC News Australia, WION India and BBC World News.