Following an extensive restoration, Scotland’s historic Fife Arms Hotel was officially reopened this week with a visit from the Duke and Duchess of Rothesay – as Prince Charles and his wife, Camilla, are known when in Scotland.
Dressed in plaid – Prince Charles in a kilt and Camilla in a tartan print skirt – the royals viewed the property and unveiled a plaque to mark their visit on the occasion of the re-opening. Located in Braemar, Scotland, close to Balmoral Castle and the site of the annual Highland Games, the Fife Arms Hotel is a local landmark dating back to 1856.
During the extensive renovations, new owners Iwan and Manuela Wirth put a significant focus on the property’s design and art collection. Co-owners of the Hauser & Wirth Gallery, the couple have brought in a large number of antique and newly commissioned pieces. As a result, the hotel’s collection boasts more than 14,000 historic objects and works of art, many with close associations to the Braemar area and its history.
The hotel’s collection includes pieces by artists such as Lucien Freud, Louise Bourgeois, Pablo Picasso and Archibald Thorburn. It also boasts a pencil and watercolour piece by Queen Victoria dated October 6, 1874. The Duke of Rothsay’s great-great-great-grandmother was known for having sketched and painted throughout her life.
The Duke and Duchess of Rothesay enjoyed a drink while exploring the hotel and viewing the detailed work of designer Russell Sage. Sage was inspired by Scottish heritage when it came to the interior design with tartan aplenty and unique, varied designs for each of the rooms.
Built in the 19th century, The Fife Arms Hotel displays the traditional architectural characteristics of the area with timber bargeboards and a multi-gabled elevation. The current design foundation was laid by Alexander Marshall Mackenzie, the man who remodelled the original building into the category B listed building it is now.