SUPPORT OUR JOURNALISM: Please consider donating to keep our website running and free for all - thank you!


The line of succession to the Luxembourgish throne

Luxembourg’s line of succession is governed by absolute primogeniture from Grand Duke Henri’s descendants. This change took effect in 2011 – before that, females couldn’t inherit the throne.

At that time, Grand Duke Henri issued a decree allowing female legitimate descendants of his to inherit the throne, depending on their order of birth. If a sister is born before a younger brother (as was in the case of Princess Amalia and Prince Liam), the Princess ranks ahead of her brother in the line of succession.

The current line of succession to inherit the Luxembourgish throne is as follows:

  1. Hereditary Grand Duke Guillaume
  2. Prince Charles
  3. Prince Francois
  4. Prince Felix
  5. Princess Amalia
  6. Prince Liam
  7. Princess Alexandra
  8. Prince Sebastien
  9. Prince Guillaume
  10. Prince Paul Louis
  11. Prince Leopold
  12. Prince Jean Andre
  13. Prince Robert
  14. Prince Alexandre
  15. Prince Frederik

Grand Duke Henri and Grand Duchess Maria Teresa’s son, Prince Louis, renounced his and his descendants’ rights to the throne upon his marriage to Tessy Antony in 2006.

About author

Brittani is from Tennessee, USA. She is a political scientist and historian after graduating with a degree in the topics from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, in December 2014. She also holds a master's degree from Northeastern University. She enjoys reading and researching all things regarding the royals of the world. She's been researching, reading, and writing on royalty for over a decade. She became Europe Editor in October 2016, and then Deputy Editor in January 2019, and has been featured on several podcasts, radio shows, news broadcasts and websites including Global News Canada, ABC News Australia, WION India and BBC World News.