To Top

The Royal Household

In the past few weeks, Royal Central took a look at the Official Royal Posts that are part of the Royal Household. On our next historical journey, we look at the five departments that comprise the Royal Household as well as the staff of the Royal Household from those that keep the clocks running to the Coffee Room Maids.

The Private Secretary’s Office, the Master of the Household’s Department, the Privy Purse and Treasurer’s Office, the Lord Chamberlain’s Office, and the Royal Collection Department comprise the Royal Household Departments that are based at Buckingham Palace, although some do work St. James’s Palace, Windsor Castle as well as the Palace of Holyroodhouse and the Royal Mews.

The Royal Household employs nearly 1,200 staff. Of those employed, around 450 are funded by the taxpayer.

Join us as we take a peek into the inner workings of the Royal Household.

Featured photo credit: Michael Garnett via photopin cc

More in Blog Posts