Click the button for the latest news on the coronavirus pandemic and how it is impacting the royals

State & Ceremonial

Theresa May informs The Queen that she will resign as Tory Leader on 7th June

Theresa May has announced that she has resigned as Conservative Party Leader on June 7.

She will stay on as Prime Minister until a successor has been found.

Mrs May has notified The Queen of her decision. Her permanent successor will be appointed within the next few months.

Mrs May has been forced to resign due to the Brexit deadlock in the House of Commons.

She had intended to bring her withdrawal agreement to a vote for the fourth time next week.

During The Queen’s reign, 13 Prime Ministers have been in office: Winston Churchill, Anthony Eden, Harold Macmillan, Alec Douglas-Holme, Harold Wilson, Ted Heath, James Callaghan, Margaret Thatcher, John Major, Tony Blair, Gordon Brown, David Cameron and Theresa May.

Some likely front runners to become the next Conservative Party Leader include the Environment Secretary Michael Gove, Foreign Secretary Jeremy Hunt and former Mayor of London Boris Johnson.