The Queen

All the Queen’s Prime Ministers

The Queen, Elizabeth II
Royal Family Instagram

The Queen is about to see the fourteenth Prime Minister of her reign. Theresa May has informed Her Majesty that she will stand down as Conservative leader on Friday June 7th 2019, triggering a race to replace her. The new incumbent will be in place within days and will become the fourteenth person to serve as UK Prime Minister in the reign of Elizabeth II. As this historic moment approaches, Royal Central takes a look back at the Queen with all her Prime Ministers.

Embed from Getty Images

Winston Churchill, 1952 – 1955, Conservative

Anthony Eden, 1955 – 1957, Conservative

Harold Macmillan, 1957 – 1963, Conservative

Alec Douglas-Home, 1963 – 1964, Conservative

Harold Wilson, 1964 – 1970 and 1974 – 1976, Labour

Edward Heath, 1970 – 1974, Conservative

James Callaghan, 1976 – 1979, Labour

Margaret Thatcher, 1979 – 1990, Conservative

John Major, 1990 – 1997, Conservative

Tony Blair, 1997 – 2007, Labour

Gordon Brown, 2007 – 2010, Labour

David Cameron, 2010 – 2016, Conservative

Theresa May, 2016 – 2019, Conservative

And from June 2019? The story is still to be written, stay with Royal Central for the very latest on this historic turn of events.

About author

Lydia is a writer, blogger and journalist. She's worked in the media for over twenty years as a broadcast reporter, producer and editor as well as feature and online writer. As well as royals and royal history, she's a news junkie and podcaster.