State & Ceremonial

MPs force a vote of no confidence in Prime Minister Theresa May

British Members of Parliament have triggered a vote of no confidence against Prime Minister Theresa May following a backlash against her proposed Brexit deal.

48 Conservative MPs have declared that they have no confidence in Mrs May meaning she will now face a vote of no confidence.

The vote will take place this evening with the result being declared by the end of the day.

The PM has said that she intends to fight the vote of no confidence.

If she loses the vote then Mrs May will be forced to resign and a new Prime Minister will be appointed.

If she wins, she will continue on as Prime Minister and cannot be challenged again for another year.

The Queen will be watching events carefully from Buckingham Palace.

This is a breaking news story. Refresh this page for updates as they become available.