To Top

Princess Eugenie becomes Royal Patron of Tate Young Patrons

Princess Eugenie of York has announced that she has become Royal Patron of the Tate Young Patrons organisation. The royal bride-to-be announced the exciting new appointment on the Instagram account that she started on International Women’s Day in March of this year.

Her message read: “Very happy to announce that I am now Royal Patron of the Tate Young Patrons. This institution does remarkable work for the arts and I’m very proud to begin working with them. Picasso at the Tate Modern on view until September is just incredible…”

Princess Eugenie’s announcement was joined by a carousel of images which showcased the iconic architecture of both the Tate Modern and Tate Britain museums in London as well as images of specific art pieces which could potentially be particular favourites of the youngest daughter of the Duke of York and Sarah Ferguson.

Tate Young Patrons

The Tate offers four levels of patronage for purchase by the general public with the Tate Young Patrons tier being described as a “sociable group with a contemporary focus, tailored for 18–40 year-olds, exploring emerging artists and spaces”.

For a yearly fee of £1,200, Tate Young Patrons can gain access to out of hours curator-led tours of exhibitions and shows across London, hosted events throughout the year, invitations to Tate’s VIP receptions, unlimited entry to all exhibitions for themselves and a family member as well as the opportunity to hire spaces for private entertaining at both the Tate Britain and the Tate Modern in London.

From the Tate website: “Tate Patrons have a close relationship with Tate, helping to share art with our diverse audiences, and enjoy curator-led exhibition tours at Tate and other galleries, visits to private collections and artist studios, invitations to opening receptions, and art trips in Europe and beyond.”

The Tate

The Tate Gallery was founded in 1897 as the National Gallery of British Art and became the Tate Gallery in 1932 when it was renamed after sugar magnate Henry Tate. Originally housed in what is now the Tate Britain, the Tate Gallery expanded in 2000 to become the Tate Modern – a federation of four museums – and moved to its present location in what used to be Bankside Power Station.

The Tate Modern houses “the Tate’s collection of British and international modern and contemporary art from 1900 to the present day”, the Tate Liverpool accomplishes the same goal but on a smaller scale, the Tate St Ives displays “modern and contemporary art by artists who have connections with the area” and the Tate Britain focuses on “the collection of British art from 1500 to the present day”. The Tate awards the Turner Prize each year, usually at the Tate Britain.

More in British Royals