Where does The Queen reign?

Read Time:2 Minute, 4 Second

Written for Royal Central by Jessica Storoschuk

On Sunday, 6 February, Queen Elizabeth II will celebrate her Platinum Jubilee, 70 years on the throne. While most people associate her with the United Kingdom, she is also The Queen of fourteen other nations. 

Her Majesty has been The Queen of Canada since she ascended the throne in 1952. She has visited Canada more than any other nation, 27 times. Other than the United Kingdom, Canada is the only nation that The Queen has made a state visit overseas as the Head of State. Her last visit to Canada was in 2010. 

The Queen has also been The Queen of New Zealand and The Queen of Australia since 1952. In New Zealand, she is known as Kotuku, meaning “the white bird.” It is rarely seen in New Zealand but beloved. Australia has seen growing republican sentiments in the last decades, but she remains The Queen there. 

The Queen serves as the monarch and head of state for several Caribbean nations. 

Queen Elizabeth II has been Queen of Jamaica since 1962 with the Jamaica Independence Act 1962. It was the first English-speaking country in the West Indies to gain complete independence from the UK; with independence, it became a member of the Commonwealth of Nations as a distinct Commonwealth realm. The Queen has a distinct personal flag as Queen of Jamaica, featuring St. George’s Cross, The Queen’s Royal Cipher, and four gold pineapples. 

Her Majesty has served as Queen of the Bahamas since 1973, when The Bahamas gained independence on 10 July.

The Queen has served as Queen of Grenada since 1974, when they gained their independence. She has served as Queen of St. Lucia and Queen of St. Vincent and the Grenadines since 1979, and as Queen of Belize and Queen of Antigua and Barbuda since 1981. She has been The Queen of St. Kitts and Nevis since 1983; St. Kitts and Nevis is the only sovereign federation in the Commonwealth and is the smallest sovereign federation. 

The Queen also serves as the monarch and head of state for several nations in Oceania. 

Queen Elizabeth II has been Queen of Papua New Guinea since 1975 and Queen of the Solomon Islands and Queen of Tuvalu since 1978.

It is expected that in the coming weeks and months, tours to mark the Platinum Jubilee to all of The Queen’s realms will be announced. 

About Post Author

Royal Central

Royal Central is the web's leading source for news on the Monarchies of the world.