Connect
To Top

If you enjoyed Phil Dampier’s last book on Prince Philip, you will relish the new version

Royal Central recently reviewed Prince Philip, Wise Words and Golden Gaffes complied by Phil Dampier and Ashley Walton and if you enjoyed it as much as we did, you are in for a treat!

A new version, Prince Philip: A Lifetime of Wit and Wisdom, has been released containing all the fun of the first book with the added bonus of his latest quips.

Just before the Duke of Edinburgh’s 96th birthday, it was announced that he would be stepping down from public duties. A Lifetime of Wit and Wisdom updates his most famous moments right up until his retirement.

One such moment is when a guest at the Order of Merit at the Chapel Royal in St James’s Palace spoke to the Duke, saying: “I’m sorry to hear you’re standing down.” With barely a moment’s hesitation Philip replied: “Well, I can’t stand up much longer!”

There are serious quotes as well, such as when he talks about his service to the Queen.

There’s also a section on his political incorrectness because there couldn’t be a book of gaffes without it (it’s the largest part in the book, too, for what it’s worth).

Populated with cartoons of the Duke drawn by Richard Jolley, this is the perfect book for any royal watcher or fan who thinks Prince Philip is a breath of fresh air, funny, or just wants to recall any of these moments.

The Duke of Edinburgh’s retirement was announced on 4 May 2017 after 70 years of dedicated service to the Commonwealth and his wife, The Queen, has made headlines for just as long – some good, some bad. But one thing you can count on with the Duke is that he always has something to say.

Prince Philip: A Lifetime of Wit and Wisdom can be purchased through Amazon and other retailers.

  • pamela traves

    I would Love to Read this!

More in Opinion and Reviews

Royal Central is the web's most popular source for the latest news and information on the British Royal Family and the Monarchies of Europe.

Subscribe via Email

To receive the latest Royal Central posts straight to your email inbox, enter your email address below and press subscribe.

Join 31,257 other subscribers.

Copyright © 2017 Royal Central, all rights reserved.