To Top

Parliament Prorogued, Queen To Reopen On 8th May

Parliament has been prorogued (suspended) now until 8th May when Her Majesty officially reopens Parliament.

The Houses of Parliament was prorogued (suspended) on Thursday and until 8th May will remain in prorogation until Her Majesty opens it.

MPs and peers formally marked the end of the current parliamentary year in a ceremony known as prorogation, on 25 April 2013. The new Parliament will be ushered in at the State Opening of Parliament on 8 May. The Gentleman Usher of the Black Rod summons MPs to attend the House of Lords as any outstanding acts are given royal assent.

By ancient tradition, legislation which has passed all parliamentary stages is given royal assent in Norman French using the words “La Reyne le veult”, which roughly translates as “The Queen wills it”.

The Royal Commission were present in the House of Lords, donning ceremonial robes and caps. At the end of the ceremony, it is customary for MPs to shake the hand of the Commons Speaker as they file out of the chamber.

Her Majesty will attend the State Opening of Parliament on 8th May.

photo credit: ** Lucky Cavey ** via photopin cc
Information Sourced: BBC

More in State & Ceremonial