The Earl and Countess of Strathearn, The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge’s titles when in Scotland, undertook numerous engagements today in the areas of Perth and Kinross.
To begin the day, William and Kate visited Strathearn Community Campus in Crieff. When there, they met with young carers, Scotland’s Air Ambulance and groups of young people from Scouts, Cadets and Brownies and unveiled a plaque to acknowledge their visit. William was shown inside the aircraft of HeliMed76 and talked through its features with The Scottish Charity Air Ambulance crew, taking an interest as a former pilot himself.
The Earl and Countess of Strathearn then unveiled a plaque to dedicate the newly restored MacRosty Park as a Field in Trust for their second engagement of the day. The park was opened in 1902 and is named after its benefactor, James Macrosty, and has undergone renovation to make it an award-winning greenspace. In 2013, MacRosty Park was designated a Queen Elizabeth II Field to be used and enjoyed of the locals of Crieff and the wider community of Perth and Kinross.
The parents-of-one spoke with local dignitaries, and then did a short walkabout amongst the crowds, receiving more gifts for Prince George! Gifts included a corgi teddy, a large teddy bear wearing a Strathearn tartan kilt.
The couple moved on to a tour of The Famous Grouse Experience, to learn about the whisky and its creation. The Experience is located at Scotland’s oldest working distillery: Glenturret, which was opened in 1775. William and Catherine followed their tour by trying a dram of whisky, which the couple seemed to enjoy, despite one with an alcohol volume of over 50%; Catherine preferred the blend called ‘The Naked One’, calling it the ‘girlie’ one compared to the stronger blends. The Royals then signed a label of Famous Grouse to auction a bottle of whisky for charity. A small reception to meet groups from the local community rounded off the engagement.
The final visit of the day was to Forteviot Fete, to view some local arts and crafts; the small green was rebuilt in the 1920s by John Alexander Dewar, with cottages and lawns laid out around a central square, giving a charming, old world feel to the area.
A picture of the Cambridge family made from hundreds of sweets which the Duchess of Cambridge viewed in Forteviot. pic.twitter.com/CxJKYmLLbh— Mark Stewart (@RegalEyes) May 29, 2014
A picture of the Cambridge family made from hundreds of sweets which the Duchess of Cambridge viewed in Forteviot. pic.twitter.com/CxJKYmLLbh
— Mark Stewart (@RegalEyes) May 29, 2014
The chapel and village hall were also paid a visit by the Earl and Countess after they browsed the stalls local wares, ending the couple’s first joint engagement since returning from their tour of New Zealand and Australia.
Pictures with thanks to Police Firearms Officer Association, Scotland, and Ashleigh Logan/@Royally_Kate who is researching consumer consumption of Kate
To receive the latest Royal Central posts straight to your email inbox, enter your email address below and press subscribe.